Monday, October 22, 2012

Murray And Jones National Finalist


Georgia juniors Aaron Murray and Jarvis Jones have been named semifinalists for the national awards representing their respective positions, according to separate announcements on Monday.

Murray is one of 16 quarterbacks named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award while Jones is repeating as a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, which is given to the country’s top linebacker.

Murray is one of three quarterbacks representing the SEC on the list with Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel and Alabama’s A.J. McCarron also included.

Despite missing the Kentucky game (ankle) and Florida Atlantic game (groin) with injuries, Jones leads the team in sacks (5.5) and tackles for loss (9.5) and is third on Georgia’s defense with 36 stops in five games played. Jones, who also leads the Dawgs with three forced fumbles, has 19 career sacks in two seasons at Georgia and is the current NCAA active leader in sacks per game at 1.0.

A 2011 All-American and finalist for the Butkus Award last season, Jones had a dominating performance at Missouri that earned him national player of the week honors earlier this year. He finished with nine tackles, including two sacks, an interception returned to the Tiger 1-yard line, two forced fumbles and five quarterback pressures to pace the defense during the 41-20 rout of Missouri.

Jones is one of three players from the SEC on the Butkus Award semifinalists list.

No comments:

Post a Comment