Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Abry Jones Named To Ted Hendricks Award Watch List


DSC_5998Georgia senior defensive end Abry Jones has been named to the Ted Hendricks Award Watch List, which is given to the nation’s top defensive end.

Jones is one of nine players from the Southeastern Conference on the 40-man list. The Warner Robins native has already been included on the Preseason Coaches All-SEC Third Team.

A mid-season watch list for the Hendricks Award will be issued in November and the 2012 winner will be announced on December 5th.

Jones started all 14 games for the Dawgs in 2011 and registered 48 tackles, including 7.0 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks. Tallying a career-high 16 tackles versus Georgia Tech in 2010, Jones returned to also force a fumble and record 20 quarterback pressures last season.

Former Georgia All-American defensive end David Pollack is the only two-time winner of the Hendricks Award. Pollack was awarded the honor in 2003 and 2004 during a career where the Snellville native finished with 36 sacks and four interceptions.

No comments:

Post a Comment