Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Murray And Boykin On Watch Lists


Georgia redshirt sophomore quarterback Aaron Murray has been named to the Maxwell Award Watch List while senior cornerback Brandon Boykin has been included on the Bednarik Award Watch List, according to an announcement by the Maxwell Football Club.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 31st and the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 21st. The winners of the 2011 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 8th.

All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.  

DSC_6919Murray, a native of Tampa, Fla., was tabbed a Freshman All-American following last season when he set a UGA freshman record with 3,049 passing yards, which ranks second in SEC history for freshmen. Murray's passing efficiency of 154.48 was also the best in the country among all freshmen quarterbacks and second best in school history among all quarterbacks.

The Maxwell Award has been given to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937 and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. Both Georgia’s Charley Trippi (1946) and Herschel Walker (1982) won the Maxwell Award.

DSC_6786Boykin, a native of Fayetteville, finished 2010 with 44 tackles, including 6.5 tackles for loss, and tied for the team lead with three interceptions. Boykin is Georgia’s active leader with six career picks. He is also UGA’s leader in career kickoff return yards with 1,813 and is the only player in SEC history to have three 100-yard plays of any kind.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. A former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, Chuck Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

David Pollack is the only Dawg to win the Bednarik Award after earning the honor in 2004.

No comments:

Post a Comment