Friday, July 22, 2011

Dawgs Named To Pre Season All SEC Team


Eight Dawgs were selected for nine spots on the annual Southeastern Conference Media Days Preseason All-SEC teams, according to a league announcement on Friday.

DSC_2965The Dawgs are fourth in the league with nine selections behind Alabama (16), Arkansas (14) and South Carolina (10). Georgia had six players who were named to the First Team, second only to Alabama's nine First Team selections.

Georgia was picked to finish second in the SEC’s Eastern Division with South Carolina winning the division crown. Alabama was selected to win the Western Division as well as the league title.

DSC_2952The Dawgs voted to the First Team offense include redshirt sophomore quarterback Aaron Murray, junior tight end Orson Charles and senior offensive tackle Cordy Glenn. Senior place kicker Blair Walsh, senior punter Drew Butler and senior return specialist Brandon Boykin also grabbed First Team honors on special teams.

Senior center Ben Jones was voted to the Second Team, while senior defensive end DeAngelo Tyson and Boykin were named to the Second Team defense.

No comments:

Post a Comment