Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Offensive Line Named Joe Moore Award Semifinalist

UGA Sports Communications

Georgia’s offensive line has been included as one of seven semifinalists for the Joe Moore Award, given to the country’s most outstanding offensive line unit.

The Dawgs are one of three units from the Southeastern Conference named to the award that is based on six criteria: toughness, effort, teamwork, consistency, technique and finishing. Three finalists for the honor will be announced on Monday, November 27.

Led by offensive line coach Sam Pittman, Georgia is anchored by senior left tackle Isaiah Wynn, junior center Lamont Gaillard and true freshman right tackle Andrew Thomas.  Wynn and Gaillard have combined for 60 career starts at different spots across the line while Thomas became the first true freshman offensive lineman to start for the Dawgs since John Theus in 2012.  Junior left guard Kendall Baker has also made 10 starts while redshirt freshman Solomon Kindley and senior Dyshon Sims have shared time at right guard.

Completing their schedule versus the SEC East with a perfect 6-0 record for the only time since the divisional split in 1992, the Dawgs lead the SEC in Red Zone Offense and are tied for the national lead (98 percent), are tops in the league and ranked fifth nationally in Third Down Conversions (48 percent) and are second in the SEC and 10th nationally in Rushing Offense (267.4 yards/game). Georgia has posted 36 rushes of at least 20 yards, which leads the conference and is ranked fourth nationally, and only given up 14 sacks, which ranks third in the SEC.

No comments:

Post a Comment