Friday, July 13, 2012

Nagurski & Outland Watch List Released


Georgia football is represented by a pair of players on the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List and another on the Outland Trophy Watch List.

Senior nose tackle John Jenkins has been included on both the Nagurski and Outland Trophy preseason lists while junior outside linebacker Jarvis Jones also got the nod on the Nagurski list.

The Nagurski Trophy is presented to the National Defensive Player of the Year by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). There are 84 players on the list and players may be added or deleted from the Nagurski Watch List during the season.

For the 12th consecutive season, the FWAA will choose a Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If a recipient is not on the Watch List, he will be added. The five finalists will be announced on November 15th. The Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The annual Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be December 3rd at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, North Carolina.

NFL All-Pro Champ Bailey, who was a standout on both sides of the ball for Georgia, was awarded the 1998 Nagurski Trophy.

The Outland Trophy is presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior line­man by the FWAA. Seventy-one players, which include only tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball, are included for consideration for the award. Of the players on the watch list, 18 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on November 19th. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 6th on ESPN. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on January 10, 2013, in Omaha, Nebraska.

Former Bulldog All-American Bill Stanfill was the Outland Trophy winner in 1968.

A native of Columbus, Jones was a unanimous First Team All-American following the 2011 season after he led the SEC in both sacks (13.5) and tackles for loss (19.5). Last year marked his first season playing for the Dawgs after he transferred from USC and then redshirted the 2010 campaign.

Jenkins, a native of Meriden, Connecticut., made an immediate impact for Georgia in 2011 during his first season in Athens. The 6-3, 351-pound Jenkins played in all 14 games, including starting seven of the last nine, and tallied 28 tackles, three sacks and six tackles for loss. He also forced a fumble, recovered a fumble and had an interception from his spot in the middle of the Dawg defensive line.

No comments:

Post a Comment