Thursday, September 27, 2018

Murray, Bailey selected for Ga.-Fla. Hall of Fame

UGA Sports Communications

Another star studded class is set for induction into the 2018 Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Luncheon presented by Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse on Friday, October 26th, as part of the Georgia-Florida Weekend.

Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray and linebacker Boss Bailey will join Florida defensive end Alex Brown and wide receiver Percy Harvin in being inducted at the 23rd annual luncheon at the Daily’s Place Flex Field at TIAA Bank Field.

“For decades, the Georgia-Florida game has brought our community together unlike any other event,” said Mayor Lenny Curry. “The legendary rivalry, spirit and tradition the game generates each year are driven by these two prestigious schools, their loyal fans, and some of the most talented student-athletes and coaches ever to take the field. It is an honor to recognize this year’s Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame inductees.”

One of the greatest quarterbacks in the history of the SEC, Aaron Murray set numerous records during his career at Georgia. Murray set 27 Georgia records, including twelve career, nine season and six game records including three in a bowl. The Tampa, Fla., native also established four SEC records during his four seasons at UGA. He finished with 13,562 yards of total offense (13th in the overall NCAA record books at the time), 13,166 yards passing (10th overall in the NCAA record books at the time), 121 touchdown passes (tied for sixth in the NCAA record books at the time) and 921 completions. In addition, Murray became the first player in SEC history to have at least 3,000 yards passing in four consecutive seasons. He also finished his career with a 3-1 record as a starter in the Georgia-Florida game.

As a linebacker at the University of Georgia from 1998 to 2002, Boss Bailey helped lead Georgia to victories in three post-season bowl games and win the 2002 SEC Championship. Bailey was part of the 2002 Bulldog defense that finished first in the SEC and fourth nationally in scoring defense while leading the Dawgs to a 13-1 record, the SEC and Sugar Bowl championships. He led the team in tackles with 114, in addition to six quarterback sacks and 9.5 tackles for loss. He was also named a First-team All-American, All-SEC for the second time and a semi-finalist for the Butkus and the Lombardi Awards. Bailey was drafted 34th overall in the 2003 NFL Draft by the Detroit Lions.

Table sponsorships and tickets for the event are on sale through the City of Jacksonville Sports & Entertainment Office.

Previous UGA inductees:
1996: Vince Dooley, Herschel Walker, Frank Sinkwich, Buck Belue; 1997: Lindsay Scott, Terry Hoage; 1998: Charley Trippi, Wally Butts, Jake Scott, Bill Stanfill, Tommy Thurson; 1999: Richard Appleby, Matt Robinson; 2000: Mike Cavan, John Rauch; 2001: Robert Edwards, Charlie Britt; 2002: Ray Goff, Bob Etter; 2003: George Patton, Kevin Butler; 2004: Erk Russell, Larry Munson; 2005: Cy Grant, Kevin McLee; 2006: Willie McClendon, Rodney Hampton; 2007: Dan Magill, Tim Worley; 2008: Gene Washington, Eric Zeier; 2009: Garrison Hearst, David Pollock; 2010: Knox Culpepper, Zeke Bratkowski; 2011: Bill Saye, John Brantley; 2012: David Greene, Charley Whittemore; 2013: Peter Anderson, Matt Stinchcomb; 2014: Ben Zambiasi, Pat Dye; 2015: Richard Seymour, Rex Robinson; 2016: Scott Woerner, Marcus Stroud; 2017: Randall Godfrey, Knowshon Moreno.

About the Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Luncheon presented by Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse

Created in 1995, the Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame honors and recognizes the memorable players, coaches, and administrators involved in the long-standing rivalry. Over the 23-year history of the Hall of Fame there have been 100 people inducted including legendary Gators Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel, Tim Tebow and Jevon Kearse, as well as Dawg legends Vince Dooley, Herschel Walker, David Pollack and Knowshon Moreno. 

For information, please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment