Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Smith Earns Unanimous All-America Honors

UGA Sports Communications

Georgia junior linebacker Roquan Smith has now been included on the All-America First Team by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) FBS Coaches’, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), Sporting News, Walter Camp and the Associated Press.

Smith, a native of Montezuma, becomes the fourth Dawg over the last 20 years to earn unanimous NCAA First Team All-America honors joining Champ Bailey (1998), Drew Butler (2009) and Jarvis Jones (2011-12).

In addition, senior offensive tackle Isaiah Wynn and senior tailback Nick Chubb were named to the AFCA All-America Second Team and Wynn was also an AP and College Football Madness Second Team All-American.

Also of note, quarterback Jake Fromm and right tackle Andrew Thomas garnered ESPN Freshman All-America honors this week.

Smith has also been named a First Team All-American by ESPN,, Bleacher Report, College Football Madness and The All-American while Wynn was also on the Bleacher Report’s First Team.

Smith became the first Dawg to win the Butkus Award this season, which is given to the nation’s most outstanding linebacker. He was also a finalist for the Nagurski Trophy and Bednarik Award, which are given to the country’s most dominant defensive player.

Wynn, a native of St. Petersburg, Florida, Chubb, a native of Cedartown, Fromm, a native of Warner Robins, and Thomas, a native of Lithonia, directed an offense that has averaged the Southeastern Conference’s third-best scoring offense (34.9 ppg) this season while posting the nation’s seventh-best rate for third down conversions (47 percent).

The Dawgs captured their first SEC title since 2005 and went an undefeated 6-0 versus teams from the league’s Eastern Division for the first time since the SEC split into divisions in 1992.

No comments:

Post a Comment