Thursday, September 17, 2015

Robinson, Seymour Named to Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame

University of Georgia football greats Rex Robinson and Richard Seymour have been tabbed as UGA's 2015 inductees into the Merrill-Lynch/Bank of America Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame.

The 20th annual luncheon and induction ceremony, sponsored by Ruth's Chris, will be held on Friday, October 30 at EverBank Field in Jacksonville, Fla. The event is part of the annual Georgia-Florida football weekend.

A two-time All-America placekicker for the Dawgs, Robinson lettered at UGA from 1977-1980 and was a key member of the 1980 national championship team. The Marietta native led Georgia in scoring as a sophomore and junior, and his 56 career field goals were a school record at the time. Robinson's 101-of-102 career PAT kicks were also a UGA accuracy record that has since been surpassed. After his collegiate career, he kicked one season for the New England Patriots in 1982.

One of the top defensive linemen ever at Georgia, Seymour was a four-year letterman (1997-2000) who earned All-SEC honors twice and earned All-America honors his senior season. Over his career he recorded 223 tackles, 10 sacks and 26 tackles for lost yardage. A first-round draft pick by the Patriots in 2001, he helped the franchise win three Super Bowl titles in four years, himself earning seven Pro Bowl selections during his 11 NFL seasons. The Gadsden, S.C., native was also selected to the Patriots' 50th anniversary team in 2009, as well as the NFL's All-2000s team.

Florida's 2015 inductees into the Hall of Fame include quarterback Chris Leak and receiver Jabar Gaffney.

The Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame was created in 1995 to recognize the players, coaches and representatives of each school who have made their mark on the rivalry. Each year on the Friday before the game, two members from each school are inducted.

All of UGA's inductees are as follows, listed in chronological order:
1996: Herschel Walker, Frank Sinkwich
1997: Linsday Scott, Terry Hoage
1998: Wally Butts, Jake Scott, Bill Stanfill
1999: Matt Robinson, Richard Appleby
2000: Mike Cavan, John Rauch
2001: Charley Britt, Robert Edwards
2002: Bob Etter, Ray Goff
2003: Kevin Butler, George Patton
2004: Larry Munson, Erk Russell
2005: Kevin McLee, Cy Grant
2006: Rodney Hampton, Willie McClendon
2007: Dan Magill, Tim Worley
2008: Gene Washington, Eric Zeier
2009: Garrison Hearst, David Pollack
2010: Zeke Bratkowski, Knox Culpepper
2011: John Brantley, Bill Saye
2012: Charley Whittemore, David Greene
2013: Matt Stinchcomb, Peter Anderson
2014: Ben Zambiasi, Pat Dye
2015: Rex Robinson, Richard Seymour

No comments:

Post a Comment