Friday, December 3, 2010

Post Season Honors For Dawgs


The University of Georgia had a dozen players selected to Phil Steele’s 2010 Postseason All‑SEC Teams as the magazine released the four squads Friday.

DSC_5829Junior linebacker Justin Houston was the lone Dawg to be a first team All-SEC selection.  A 6-3, 258-pound native of Statesboro, Houston is a finalist for the Butkus Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. He leads the SEC with 10 sacks and ranks second with 18.5 tackles for a loss. Houston ranks third on the team in tackles with 57.

Georgia junior flanker A.J. Green, senior offensive lineman Clint Boling, senior linebacker Akeem Dent, junior kicker Blair Walsh and junior punter Drew Butler made Phil Steele’s All-SEC second team. Junior offensive guard Cordy Glenn and redshirt sophomore safety Bacarri Rambo were named to the third team. Georgia senior split end Kris Durham, sophomore tight end Orson Charles, junior center Ben Jones and junior cornerback/kick returner Brandon Boykin made the fourth team.

Phil Steele’s College Football Preview is recognized as one of the nation’s top football magazines that also names Preseason, Midseason and Postseason All-American teams as well as All-Conference teams. A complete list of the Phil Steele All-Conference teams can be found at

No comments:

Post a Comment