Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Three Dawgs Added To Watch List


Senior Clint Boling and junior Ben Jones have been named to the Outland Trophy Watch List while junior Justin Houston is listed on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, according to recent announcements from the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

Boling, an Alpharetta native, and Jones, a Centreville, Ala., native, were two of 63 offensive and defensive tackles, offensive guards and centers named to this year’s Outland Trophy Watch List and two of 11 players from the Southeastern Conference.

The FWAA All-America Committee will select three finalists in late November and eventually the overall winner.

A two-time All-SEC performer at a variety of positions on the offensive line, Boling started all 13 games for the Dawgs in 2009, including the final six at left tackle. He led an offense that racked up 1,216 yards rushing and 11 rushing touchdowns during the final five games of the year last season.

Jones has played in all 26 games at center during his two-year career and has started 23 consecutive contests. The 6-3, 300-pound center was named to the All-SEC Second Team following the 2009 season.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century.

The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 13 in Omaha, Neb.

Houston, a native of Statesboro, is one of 74 players named to the Nagurski Trophy Watch List and one of 12 from the SEC. The 6-3, 260-pound defensive end was named to the All-SEC Second Team after starting all 10 games he played in last year and leading the team with 15.0 tackles for loss and 7.5 sacks. Houston is the top returning player in the league in both of those categories.

Each week during the 2010 season, the FWAA will choose a Defensive Player of the Week. If that player is not on the Watch List, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on November 18.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 6 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2010 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award.

Boling and Houston have already been named to the Lombardi Award Watch List while Jones was included on the Rimington Award Watch List.

No comments:

Post a Comment