Tuesday, December 8, 2009

All SEC Team Announced


SEC Champion Alabama and SEC Eastern Champion Florida each had a league-high nine representatives on the 2009 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches’ Football Team, the league office announced today. Alabama had eight members on the first team, while Florida had seven.

Eleven of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. The Dawgs had three players on the first team, with Ole Miss claiming two.

The Dawgs had seven total representatives on the annual list. The Dawgs, Tennessee and Vanderbilt had a league-high four players on the second unit followed by Arkansas, Kentucky and LSU with three each.

Every SEC squad had at least two players represented on the first and second teams.

There were only three unanimous selections to this year’s All-SEC squad - Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, Alabama running back Mark Ingram and Alabama linebacker Rolando McClain. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of 12 first-team votes.

The All-SEC squad had 15 first-team seniors, eight juniors and four sophomores. There were no freshmen on the first team. Return specialist Warren Norman of Vanderbilt was recognized on the second team and was the only freshmen listed. Alabama senior Javier Arenas made the first team twice - once as a return specialist and once as a defensive back.

The SEC individual award winners will be released on Wednesday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced on Thursday.

All SEC Dawgs:

First Team - Offense

A.J. Green, So., Wide Receiver

First Team - Defense

Rennie Curran, Jr., Linebacker

Second Team - Offense

Ben Jones - So., Center

Second Team - Defense

Geno Atkins, Sr., Defensive Tackle

Justin Houston, So., Defensive End

First Team - Special Teams

Drew Butler, So., Punter

Second Team - Special Teams

Blair Walsh, So., Kicker

No comments:

Post a Comment